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Connecticut Valley Hospital 

Nursing Policy and 

Procedure 

 

SECTION A: NURSING SERVICE ORGANIZATION  

CHAPTER 4: PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT IN 

NURSING: QUALITY AND APPROPRIATENESS OF 

CARE 

       

 

Policy and Procedure: 4.2 Retention/Disposition 

Schedules for Nursing Forms   

Authorization:  
Nursing Executive Committee 
 

Date Effective:  May 1, 2018 

Scope: Connecticut Valley Hospital 

 

Standard of Practice: 

The Nurse ensures that all public records related to nursing and under the purview of the nurse are 

retained or disposed of according to the rules and schedules for state agencies described below, and 

in accordance with OP&P 9.8 “Record Retention Schedules for State Agencies”.  

 

Standard of Care: 

The patient can expect that all records which pertain to him/her are retained/disposed of according to 

the retention schedules described in the Connecticut State Library web site, with attention paid to 

those items listed below.  

 

Policy: 

It is the policy of Connecticut Valley Hospital that all records are retained or disposed of as 

described in this procedure in order to meet the intent of the law and to protect the interest of the 

patient.  

 

Procedure: 

The Nurse is aware that all records which specify a required retention period may be destroyed 

only after CVH has received approval in the form of a “Records Disposal Authorization”  

(RC-108). 

 

The Nurse contacts the Director of Health Information Management (HIM) to assist in the 

process of implementing this procedure.  The appropriate manager initiates the “Records 

Disposal Authorization” form.  It is the Director of HIM, or the Chief of Financial Services, 

who are designated as the Record Manager Liaison Officer (RMLO).  The RMLO completes, 

signs, and dates the Records Disposal Authorization form and sends it to the Public Records 

Administrator.  The Public Records Administrator approves the disposition of all public records. 

 When the approval is received by the hospital, the records may be disposed of in the confidential 

shred bin located throughout each building. 

 

Within the category of Health Information Management Records and Case Files found on the 
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Connecticut State Library website, the Nurse follows the retention/disposition schedules for the 

following documents as stated below: 

 

 

A. GENERAL RECORDS 

 

Item #  Record Series Title  Minimum Retention Required Disposition 

S4-050  Nursing 24-Hour Report                          6 months  destroy 

 

S4-370  Medical records QI/PI                             5 years              destroy 

  (quality improvement/        

  performance improvement)  

 

S1-015  Minutes of administrative and professional    5 years from                destroy 

                        staff meetings may be reviewed by                 date of meetings         

                        JCAHO and/or all committees reporting 

  to executive committee 

                     

S2-280             Orientation and skill                           duration of   destroy 

                         inventory                                                 employment plus              

        30 years 

 

S2-340             Orientation (attendance                                  3 years or               destroy 

  record, schedule, content,                               until audited   

  outline) 

 

S1-350             Continuing education record,                         until termination destroy 

                        in-service, individual record of  

                        completion of orientation  

 

S4-280             In-service, continuing education                    5 years              destroy 

                        Statistics 

 

S2-280            Competency assessment                        duration of  destroy 

                                        employment    

                                                                                               plus 30 years 

 

S4-340           Preadmission Screening Form                         6 months                      destroy 

                      patients not admitted                                    from date of screening 

 

S3-330  Crash cart checklist                        3 years   destroy 

  (emergency equipment) 

 

S4-440  Per Diem logs                                   5 years              destroy 

  (list of Per Diem Nurses) 
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S1-450  Master monthly time schedules          2 years             destroy 

  official time record, including 

  all changes 

Item #  Records Series Title  Minimum Retention Required Disposition 

 

S1-440  Patient restraint/seclusion       2 years from date   destroy 

  report          of report    

       

 

S1-340  Policy Manual         5 years from date   retain 

            superseded or voided   permanently 

       

 

S4-495  Staffing level, based on                       5 years                                  destroy              

                        acuity classification system     

  or minimum staffing level  

  (may be computer generated) 

 

 

The Nurse is aware that the retention periods for the documents (records) listed above are 

minimum periods. 

 

See OP&P Procedure 9.8  Records Retention Schedules For State Agencies,  sections on 

Electronic mail and Voice Mail. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


